Local Election Results: State Committee Members Elected; Redbank Tax Referendum Defeated

JEFFERSON CO., Pa. (EYT) – Voters in local counties elected new members to the state Democratic and Republican committees, and voters in Redbank Valley School District said “no” to a special tax referendum on Tuesday.


The individuals who won a term to the state political committees are as follows:

Jefferson County

Republican: Chad Horner and Karen McNutt
Democratic: Nicholas Gianvito

Clarion County

Republican: Nancy Banner
Democratic: Stephanie White

Venango County

Republican: Jennifer Mays and Samuel Breene
Democratic: Ed Scurry

Forest County

No candidates for either party were listed on the ballot. Write-ins could result in winners being announced at a later date.


Voters from seven precincts in Clarion County, including those in the boroughs of New Bethlehem and Hawthorn, as well as those in Monroe, Porter, and Redbank Townships, voted decisively against the tax referendum.

The referendum was a yes or no question seeking approval for a property tax increase to help fund the Redbank Valley School District, which is currently dealing with a budget deficit and reductions in state funding.

The final unofficial tally of the votes was 182 yes and 516 no.

Jefferson County election results are available here.

Copyright © 2019 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.