Local Authors Named 2015 Leadership in History Award Winners

Fritz BurkettNASHVILLE, Tennessee – The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) recently announced that Brian Fritz and Kenneth Burkett are among this year’s recipients of a Leadership in History award for their 2014 publication titled Scripture Rocks: Why Douglas Stahlman Carved His Legacy in Stone.

The AASLH Leadership in History awards are the nation’s most prestigious recognition of achievement in state and local history.

The organization bestows this award to acknowledge historical preservation and interpretation that changes people’s lives by connecting them to the past.

Its goal is to establish and encourage standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history in order to make the past more meaningful to all Americans.

SR CoverThis year the AASLH is proud to confer sixty national awards honoring people, projects, exhibits, books, and organizations.

“The Leadership in History Awards is AASLH’s highest distinction and the winners represent the best in the field,” said Trina Nelson Thomas, AASLH Awards Chair and Director, Stark Art & History Venue, Stark Foundation.

Thomas also notes, “this year, we are pleased to distinguish each recipient’s commitment and innovation to the interpretation of history, as well as their leadership for the future of state and local history.”

Brian Fritz is the owner and principal investigator of Quamahoning LLC Cultural Resources and Heritage Services.

Kenneth Burkett is the Executive Director of the Jefferson County History Center.

Both are also Associate Field Archaeologists with the Carnegie Museum of Natural History in Pittsburgh.

Published through the Jefferson County History Center in Brookville, Pennsylvania, the Scripture Rocks book chronicles the life of Douglas Stahlman and his legacy of engraved rocks located in the woodlands surrounding this community.

The book is available for purchase at the JCHC or through the website at www.jchconline.org.

Presentation of the awards will be made during the 2015 AASLH Annual Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, on Friday, September 18.

The banquet is supported by a generous contribution from the History Channel.

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.