Auditor General Releases Pension Plan Audits for Municipalities in Nine Counties

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Auditor General Eugene DePasquale today released audits of municipal employee pension plans in Allegheny, Beaver, Blair, Greene, Lehigh, Montgomery, Venango and York counties.

State pension aid for police, firefighters and non-uniformed municipal employee pensions is provided from a 2 percent tax on out-of-state casualty insurance premiums, a portion of the out-of-state fire insurance tax designated for paid firefighters, and any investment income earned on the collection of these taxes.

The objectives of pension plan audits are to determine, for the selected audit period, if the municipality complied with any prior audit recommendations and if the municipal pension plan is in compliance with applicable state laws, regulations, contracts, administrative procedures, and local ordinances and policies.

Specifically, department auditors review issues including whether:

  • state aid was properly determined and deposited according to the requirements of the Municipal Pension Plan Funding Standard and Recovery Act;
  • employer contributions were determined and deposited in compliance with the plan’s governing document and applicable state laws and regulations;
  • employee contributions are required, and if so, whether they were properly determined and deposited into the pension plan;
  • benefit payments were properly made only to those entitled to receive them;
  • obligations for plan benefits were accurately determined under plan provisions and based upon complete and accurate participant data; and
  • actuarial valuation reports were sent to the Public Employee Retirement Commission in accordance with state law and selected information provided on these reports is accurate, complete and in accordance with plan provisions to ensure compliance for participation in the state aid program.

The following audit reports are available online at:


  • Wilkins Township Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Wilkins Township Police Pension Plan


  • Ohioville Borough Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Ohioville Borough Police Pension Plan


  • Tyrone Borough Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Tyrone Borough Police Pension Plan
  • Williamsburg Borough Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Williamsburg Borough Police Pension Plan


  • Folcroft Borough Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Folcroft Borough Police Pension Plan


  • Monongahela Township Nonuniformed Pension Plan


  • Coopersburg Borough Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Coopersburg Borough Police Pension Plan


  • Skippack Township Nonuniformed Pension Plan


  • Frenchcreek Township Nonuniformed Pension Plan


  • Stewartstown Borough Nonuniformed Pension Plan
  • Stewartstown Borough Police Pension Plan



Media contact:  Susan Woods, 717-787-1381


Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.