Brookville Crowns Six Champs at District 9 Wrestling Championships

Brookville Raiders District 9 ChampsHYDE, Pa. (EYT) – The Brookville Raiders have dominated District 9 wrestling all season and Saturday night at Clearfield Area High School was no different as they crowned six individual champs and had five other place winners at the Class 2A Championships.

(District 9 wrestling coverage on is brought to you by Luton’s Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning.)

Brookville rolled to the team title with a total of 242 points, 98 more than runner-up Coudersport.

The Raiders also garnered most of the individual awards as Dave Klepfer was named Coach of the Year.

For Outstanding Wrestler, the Raiders did make one small concession as senior Gavin Park had to share the honor with Port Allegany’s Jake Kallenborn.

Park didn’t spend much time on the mat as he trounced four opponents over the course of Friday and Saturday.

Park needed just 131 seconds of mat time to score four pins in winning the 120-pound weight class.

Park improved to 36-3.

Senior Keelan Kunselman got the Raiders off and running at 113 when he escaped the grasp of Ridgway’s Kyle Bush and reversed him for a 7-5 win.

At 152, junior Caleb Hetrick edged Kane sophomore Aiden Hulings, 7-6, to run his record to 37-3.

From 182 to 220, the Raiders won three straight titles.

Senior Noah Cieleski (31-6) dominated Curwensville’s Kaleb Witherite, 15-0, in 5:49, then junior Xavier Molnar (33-6) pinned Keystone’s Tyler VanTassel in 55 seconds for the championship at 195 pounds.

Molnar needed just under three minutes mat time in his three matches.

Junior Tyler Cook (35-4) rounded out the Brockville title run with an 8-1 win over Clarion’s Tom Wurster. Cook pinned his way to the finals.

The Raiders also saw five grapplers place, including third-place finishers junior Kai Sorbin at 126, junior Dontae Constable at 132, senior Clayton Peace at 160, sophomore Braden MacBeth at 170, and 285-pounder Colby Whitehill, who was fourth.

For the Brockway Rovers, their lone champ was freshman 106-pounder Anthony Glasl, who had three pins and a technical fall in his march to his first district crown.

Glasl, who improved to 30-6, decked Curwensville freshman Zach Holland in the finals.

Sophomore Garrett McClintick lost a tough, 2-1, match to Coudersport junior Isaac Wright in the finals at 170 pounds.

It was his highest district finish after placing fourth at 182 pounds last year.

Sophomore 220-pounder Justin Smith entered districts with a 2-3 mark, but he worked his way into a regional berth by placing fourth while doubling his win total.

In Saturday’s consolations, Smith beat Cranberry’s Dasan Manross, 9-2 to reach the consey finals where he lost 9-7.

The top four finishers in each weight class qualified for regionals, which will be Friday and Saturday in Sharon.

Copyright © 2024 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.