Brookville’s Powell Named D9 Girls’ Hoops Co-Coach of the Year; Miller, Schindler All-D9

SHIPPENVILLE, Pa. (D9Sports) – North Clarion’s Tori Obenrader and Terry Dreihaup, Coudersport’s Sarah Chambers and Brookville’s Mark Powell are the major All American Awards & Engraving District 9 girls’ basketball award winners for the 2018 season.

(Photo: Brookville’s Mark Powell (left) and North Clarion’s Terry Dreihaup are the co-Coaches of the Year. Photo by Chris Rossetti.)

(Photo: North Clarion’s Tori Obenrader Photo by Paul Burdick. Check out more of Burdick’s work here)

Obenrader repeats as the All American Awards & Engraving Player of the Year, Chambers is the Rookie of the Year and Dreihaup and Powell share Coach of the Year honors.

In addition to the major awards, first-, second- and third-team All American Awards & Engraving All-District 9 teams were chosen.

Joining Obenrader on the first team are A-C Valley’s Ellie Thompson, Coudersport’s Haley Keck, Kane’s Ella Marconi, Karns City’s Emily Hegedus and Punxsutawney’s Leah Miller.

The second-team consists of Clearfield’s Alayna Ryan, Cranberry’s Malliah Schreck, DuBois’ Ashley Hallowell, Keystone’s Taylor Geer, Otto-Eldred’s Camryn Thomas and Ridgway’s Emily Fullem.

On the third-team are Brookville’s Marcy Schindler, Coudersport’s Shaelyn Black, Elk County Catholic’s Taylor Newton, Johnsonburg’s Cassidy King, Kane’s Trinity Clark and Smethport’s Abbey Woodard.

All award winners and all-district performers receive either a plaque or a certificate courtesy of All American Awards & Engraving in Shippenville.

This is the 19th year of the postseason District 9 awards and the 18th they have been housed at (the first year, 2000, the awards were awarded by the Tri-County Sunday out of DuBois). It marks the 10th consecutive year All American Awards & Engraving has been the title sponsor of the awards.

The 2012 Clarion Area Chamber of Business and Industry Business of the Year in the Economic Development Division, All American Awards & Engraving is located on Route 322 in Shippenville.

The company, which specializes in all kinds of awards, trophies and engraving products as well as screen printing and embroidery, will put just about anything on just about anything. It can be found on the web at or by calling 1-877-402-9273. is in its 18th year of covering athletics within the PIAA’s District 9. The independent media site, which became part of the EYT Media family of sites (,, in December 2015 is not affiliated with the PIAA or PIAA District 9 in any way.

NOTES – In order to be eligible for the award or the all-district team, a player must participate in at least 70 percent of his team’s games. In order to be eligible for Rookie of the Year, a Player must be either a freshman or a sophomore who saw limited or no time as freshman.


Obenrader becomes the first repeat Player of the Year since St. Marys’ Kayla Ho’ohuli won three in a row from 2009 through 2011 and just the fourth repeat winner of the award after finishing second in District 9 in both scoring (24.2 points per game) and rebounding (15.1 rebounds per game) while adding 3.5 assists, 2.6 steals and 1.5 blocks per contest for the 27-1 District 9 Class 1A champion She-Wolves.

On the year, Obenrader recorded 24 double-doubles and scored 25 or more points 13 times while topping 30 three times. She also had 15 or more rebounds 16 times going over 20 four times and shot 54.5 percent (265 of 486) from the field while hitting 36 3-pointers.

A first-team All-State player as a junior, Obenrader finished her career as North Clarion’s all-time leading scorer and the fifth-leading scorer in District 9 history with 2,115 career points while also recording 1,560 career rebounds.

The 2015 All American Awards & Engraving District 9 Rookie of the Year, she is an All-District selection for the fourth consecutive season and a first-team choice for the third straight year. She is headed to Gannon next year to continue her basketball career.


Chambers played a key role in helping the Lady Falcons win their second consecutive District 9 Class 2A championship and finished as the third-leading scorer on the team averaging 8.7 points per game while adding 4.3 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.0 steals per game.

Shooting 40.5 percent (85 of 210) on the year, Chambers hit 29 3-pointers and scored in double digits nine times including scoring 15 or more points five times with a career-best 19 points vs. Cameron County.

ALL AMERICAN AWARDS & ENGRAVING CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR: Mark Powell, Brookville and Terry Dreihaup, North Clarion

Powell led a stunning turnaround for Brookville which went from a 6-16 record in 2017 to a 19-6 mark in 2018 while winning the District 9 Class 3A title and going 1-1 in the PIAA playoffs. The PIAA playoff win was the first in 33 years for the Lady Raiders, who didn’t have a senior on the roster and had seven sophomores playing in the rotation.

Dreihaup, who earns the award for the second straight season becoming the first back-to-back winner since Union’s Josh Meeker won four in a row from 2004-07 (Meeker is the only other repeat winner of the award), took a North Clarion team that had just one senior in the lineup to a 27-1 record that including a 26-0 mark at the time of the District 9 Class 1A title win over A-C Valley. The She-Wolves, which had to replace three starters from last year, became just the second District 9 girls’ team since at least the 1995-96 season and the first in Class 1A to win a District 9 title unbeaten. North Clarion then went 1-1 in the PIAA playoffs reaching the second round for the second year in a row but for only the second time in school history. The lone loss, to Farrell, in the PIAA playoffs, came in overtime.

Click here to see the statistics for all of the All-District players.

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.