Burkett, Jefferson County History Center to Receive State Awards During March 27 Ceremony

history centerHARRISBURG, Pa. (EYT) – Executive Director Ken Burkett and The Jefferson County History Center will be recognized later this month by PA Museums during their annual awards ceremony in Harrisburg.

Each year, PA Museums recognizes the special achievements of museums and historical organizations in Pennsylvania.

PA Museums will honor the following award winners on March 27 at their annual Awards Luncheon:

  • The Cumberland County Historical Society
  • The Jefferson County History Center
  • Eastern State Penitentiary
  • The National Watch and Clock Museum
  • Landis Valley Village and Farm Museum
  • The Pennsylvania Trolley Museum
  • The Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts

Additionally, the organization will present the S.K. Stevens Award for statewide and national recognition of an institution to the Pennsylvania Lumber Museum.

PA Museums will also recognize individual accomplishments as part of our awards ceremony. These individuals include Ken Burkett (Jefferson County History Center), J. Steven Humphrey (National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors), and John Vanco (Erie Art Museum).


Burkett and The Jefferson County History Center have received much acclaim for the recently unveiled Scripture Rocks Heritage Park.

The park – which opened last Summer – was developed preserve the legacy of Douglas M. Stahlman, his dedicated rocks, and to make the history of the man’s legacy accessible to all who are interested in his story and in his impact on the Brookville area. Stahlman was an eccentric, reclusive preacher, and a self-proclaimed prophet who was born and raised in Jefferson County in the mid-nineteenth century and resided in Brookville from 1907 to 1915.

PA Museums is Pennsylvania’s statewide trade association serving museum professionals and institutions. Based in Harrisburg, PA Museums was founded in 1905 and during its long history was known as the Pennsylvania Federation of Historical Societies and the Pennsylvania Federation of Museums and Historical Organizations.

Copyright © 2022 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.