C-L Looks for Fourth Straight KSAC Boys’ Title; Keystone in Search of First Since 2009

CLARION, Pa. (D9Sports) – Clarion-Limestone looks to continue its dominant run in the KSAC, while Keystone seeks to recapture former glory when the teams meet at 8 p.m. Friday in the conference’s boys’ title game at Clarion University’s Tippin Gym.

(Photo: Dan Callen, Clarion-Limestone)

C-L has won three consecutive KSAC titles and four of the last five. The Lions are trying are to become the first team to win four consecutive league titles since Union won four Clarion County League championships from 1956-59. The last team to win three in a row was Karns City from 1981-83 in the CCL, while Union won three in a row from 1962-64 in the CCL. East Brady won eight straight CCL titles from 1946-53, including seven CCL Class B titles (1946-52) and an overall title in 1953.

Keystone, meanwhile, is trying to become the first KSAC South team win the title game, which started in 2007, since the Panthers beat North Clarion in 2009. Keystone has two title-game wins also capturing the first-ever championship game in 2007 and has won seven conference titles since 1996 but none since the 2009 season. (Find out how you can listen live).

Austin Ion, Photo by Mike Schnelle

Austin Ion, Photo by Mike Schnelle

The teams met Jan. 17 at Keystone with C-L winning 63-48 thanks to 21 points from Dan Callen, 19 in the second half. Christian Smith and Ian Callen each scored 13 points. Austin Ion had 15 for Keystone with Corey Rapp scoring 11 and Dalton Jones and Nate Wingard each scoring 10 points.

On the season, Dan Callen paces C-L averaging 19.2 points per game, one of four Lions in double digits. His brother, Ian, adds 11.6 ppg with freshman Deion Deas chipping in 10.4 ppg and Smith 10.3. Sam Leadbetter chips in 9.0 ppg.

Ion paces Keystone 14.7 ppg, the lone Panther in double digits. Rapp chips in 9.4 ppg with Wingard adding 8.7 ppg, Tanner Wilson 8.0 ppg and Dalton Jones 7.3 ppg.

See related story: Girls’ Title Game Preview


2016 – Clarion-Limestone 64, Union 39

2015 – Clarion-Limestone 61, Redbank Valley 35

2014 – Clarion-Limestone 62, Redbank Valley 50

2013 – North Clarion 59, A-C Valley 54

2012 – Clarion-Limestone 56, Union 54

2011 – Venango Catholic 65, Union 61

2010 – North Clarion 56, A-C Valley 53

2009 – Keystone 46, North Clarion 41

2008 – Rocky Grove 67, Union 53

2007 – Keystone 62, Clarion 44

Copyright © 2022 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.