Fifteen Awards Given Out at Inaugural Clarion University Athletic “Ernies” Awards Ceremony

CLARION, Pa. (EYT) – In an event sponsored by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), the Clarion University athletic department awarded 15 “Ernies” to various athletes, teams, professors and fans at the inaugural “Ernies” Monday at Marwick-Boyd Auditorium.

(Photo: Master of Ceremony Alissa Spencer and Tyler Falk. Photo courtesy of Clarion University Athletics)

“Tonight, we recognize our student-athletes and all those who have helped them achieve their incredible successes,” interim Athletic Director Wendy Snodgrass said told the audience in her opening remarks.

Leading the “Ernie” winners were Tyra Polite of the women’s basketball team as the Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year and Ben Spencer of the men’s swimming and diving team as the Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year.

Brana Hill singing at the "Ernies"

Brana Hill singing at the “Ernies”

Clarion’s SAAC branch took on the planning and preparation for the event, with every athletics program represented in the formulation of the ceremony. Masters of ceremony Alissa Spencer (soccer) and Tyler Falk (baseball) introduced the presenters – made up of athletes from Clarion’s 15 varsity sports – as well as performances from the Hip Hop Dance Team, Erin Lewis, the CUPellas and Brana Hill.

The night began with a red carpet entrance and photos as the student-athletes, coaches and fans streamed into the auditorium.


Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year – Tyra Polite, Women’s Basketball
Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year – Ben Spencer, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Freshman of the Year – Joe Folz, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Best Single-Game Performance (Team) – Women’s Basketball clinches PSAC Tournament with win against Slippery Rock
Best Single-Game Performance (Individual) – Collin Vest wins fourth career national championship
Breakthrough Athlete of the Year – Taylor Moltz, Women’s Basketball
Team of the Year – Women’s Basketball
Coach of the Year – Jana Ashley, Women’s Basketball
Fan of the Year – Luke Simpson, Swimming & Diving
Best Play – Rob Hacku, Ian Lindsey, Josh Thruston and Ben Spencer in relays at PSAC Championships
Best Musical/Dance Performance – Hip Hop Dance Team
Faculty Mentor of the Year – Ken Staub, Wrestling
Eagle Cup Winner – Softball
Top Women’s Team GPA – Cross Country
Top Men’s Team GPA – Men’s Golf

The softball team won the Eagle Cup

The softball team won the Eagle Cup

Copyright © 2021 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.