Clarion University’s Howsare Named First Team A-A by

howsare act1ics2CLARION, Pa. – Clarion University senior defensive end Julian Howsare (Altoona) was named yesterday as a First Team NCAA Division II All-American by at defensive line.

The First Team All-America honor from is the highest honor Howsare has received to date.

The All-America Team was selected by the staff of with input from coaches, scouts, media members, and sports information directors from around the country. has named an All-America team since its inception in 2000.

“Congratulations to Julian from everyone here at Clarion University,” said Interim Head coach Chris Weibel. “Julian was a great player and leader on our team for four years and we were so proud to have him here and wearing blue & gold.”

Howsare, a 6-3, 255-pound, senior, defensive end from Altoona, Pa., was named a finalist for both the Cliff Harris Award, and the Gene Upshaw Award at the end of the 2014 season. The Harris award is the top defensive player in Division II, and the Upshaw Award was for the top lineman in Division II.

A first team Daktronics and FB Gazette Super Region 1 choice this season, Julian was honored as the PSAC-West Defensive “Player of the Year” in 2014 for the second straight season.

Also a First Team PSAC-West choice, a team captain in 2014 and consensus pre-season All-American, Howsare had his third consecutive outstanding season for the Golden Eagles. In 2014 Howsare led Clarion with 86 tackles, 48 solo tackles, 11 sacks for -58 yards, 16 tfl’s for -69 yards, 5 pass break-ups, 3 blocked kicks, 3 fumbles caused, 3 qb hurries and 2 fumble recoveries.

A two-time PSAC-West Defensive “Player of the Week” in 2014, he was honored in Clarion’s 55-16 win over Millersville and in the Eagles 41-35 overtime loss to Kutztown.

In the Millersville game Howsare had 10 tackles (5 solo), 2 sacks for -8 yards and recovered a Marauder fumble and returned it 23 yards. Versus Kutztown he had 8 tackles, 6 solo, 2 sacks for -15 yards, blocked a punt, caused a fumble, had 2 qb hurries and 2 broken-up passes in the game.

J. Howsare (2)

Other top games this year include 16 tackles and a blocked kick vs Slippery rock; 2 sacks, an interception, 1 fumble caused, 1 break-up and a qb hurry vs Cal; 9 stops, 3 tfl’s, 1 sack and 1 pass break-up vs IUP.

The 2013 PSAC-West “Defensive Player of the Year”, Howsare was a Third Team Football Gazette All-American in 2013. He posted 83 hits, 46 solos, 18 tfl’s (-75 yards), 10 sacks (-58 yards), 4 break-ups, 4 blocked kicks, 2 int’s and 2 fumbles caused in 2013. He was also voted as a Honorable Mention All-American, a First Team FB Gazette Super Region 1 and First Team PSAC-West selection.

In 2012 Howsare was also voted as a Third Team FB Gazette All-American, a First Team All-Region and First Team PSAC-West choice. He made 58 stops, 16 tfl’s(-102 yards), 14 sacks (-89 yards), 2 blocked kicks and 3 break-ups in 2012.

In his outstanding career Julian finished with 256 tackles, 57 tfl’s (-270), 39 sacks (-220), 10 blocked kicks, 14 break-ups, 9 fumbles caused, 3 interceptions and 2 fumble recoveries in 43 games.

The son of Karyn Stalter and John Howsare, he is a Sports Management major and is a Clarion Scholar Athlete.

CLARION NOTES: A total of four players were First Team A-A on the Defensive Line. The other First Team All-American Defensive Linemen were Darius Allen (CSU-Pueblo) who has been the nation’s consensus Defensive Player of the Year, Matt Longacre (Northwest Missouri) and Josh Gordon (Minnesota State). The PSAC had a total of 4 Players named First Team A-A including West Chester TE Tim Brown and DB Al-Hajj Shabazz and Bloomsburg linebacker Justin Shirk.

Offensive Player of the Year Terrell Watson and Defensive Player of the Year Darius Allen highlight the 2014 All-America team. Players from 65 schools were selected with National Champion CSU-Pueblo leading the way with six selections. John Wristen, coach of National Champion Thunderwolves, is the 2014 Coach of the Year. It is the first time he has received this honor.

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.