Clarion Wrestlers Edged by CSU, 21-15

darchCLEVELAND, Oh. – Clarion junior John Pezze posted a pin, and the Golden Eagles notched decisions from Slade Horner, Michael Pavasko and Ryan Darch and led 15-11, but Cleveland State rallied winning the final three bouts to defeat Clarion 21-15 in NCAA Division I Wrestling at Woodling Gymnasium on Friday night.

Clarion dropped to 1-12 overall and 1-4 in the EWL, while CSU raised its record to 5-2 overall and 2-2 in the EWL.

The match started at 141 and Clarion junior John Pezze started the Eagles off fast by lowering the boom on Mike Carlone at 1:36. Pezze hit a headlock and the pin came quick, giving Clarion a 6-0 lead.

Cleveland State bounced back to take an 8-6 lead when Nick Montgomery scored a 13-2 major over Brodie Zacherl at 149 and LaTrell Davis majored Evan DeLong 17-5 at 157.

Clarion came back at 165 when Slade Horner decisioned Matt Donohoe 7-3 to put the Eagles back in the lead at 9-8. Horner, who had been out of the lineup with an injury the entire month of January, had a takedown in all three periods to get the win and boost his record to 13-8.

Michael PAvsako extended the lead to 12-8 when he decisioned Gabe Stark 5-2 at 174. A hard fought match that was tied 1-1 in the third, Pavasko scored a key takedown with about a minute left, then added a late takedown for the win. Pavasko upped his record to 17-10.

Daniel Sutherland lost 6-0 to Xavier Dye at 184, but Clarion bounced back again at 197 when Ryan Darch ground out a 2-0 win over Nic Corba. Darch escaped in the second, and rode Corba out in the third for his 2-0 win, pushing his season record to 14-10.

With Clarion leading 15-11, the Vikings won the final three bouts to win 21-15. At 285 #15 ranked Riley Shaw defeated Joshua Davis 2-0, and then at 125 #15 rated Ben Willeford scored a 19-5 major over Hunter Jones for an 18-15 lead. Alfredo Gray finished off the win with an 8-1 decision over Matt Liggett at 133.

CLARION NOTES: Clarion had a 7-match win streak over the Vikings snapped tonight … The match was to be aired on WWCH Radio in Clarion and on Redzone, but the radio tower was not functioning and technical difficulties kept the match from being run on tape delay… Clarion will wrestle at Lock Haven on Sunday at 2pm.

141- John Pezze (CL)wbf Mike Carlone (CS) 1:36
149- Nick Montgomery (CS) maj. Dec. Brodie Zacherl (CL) 13-2
157- LaTrell Davis (CS) maj. Dec. Evan DeLong (CL) 17-5
165- Slade Horner (CL) dec. Matt Donohoe (CS) 7-3
174- Michael Pavasko (CL) dec. Gabe Stark (CS) 5-2
184- Xavier Dye (CS) dec. Daniel Sutherland (CL) 6-0
197- Ryan Darch (CL) dec. Nic Corba (CS) 2-0
285- Riley Shaw (CS) dec. Joshua Davis (CL) 2-0
125- Ben Willeford (CS) maj. Dec. Hunter Jones (CL) 19-5
133- Alfredo Gray (CS) dec. Matt Liggett (CL) 8-1

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.