ECC Boys Win Cross Country Championship

ECC - Class-A D9 team championsRIDGWAY, Pa. – PIAA District IX Single-A and Double-A Cross Country Championships were held at Grandinetti Elementary School on Saturday, October 31st with 252 runners from twenty-five schools attending.

Class A Championship: the top 2 teams plus top 10 individual runners advance to the State Championship race.


Overall, North Clarion senior Isaac Wilson posted the fastest time of the day for all competitors, following-up his KSAC title victory by finishing at 16:58.  Cranberry’s Harrison Keenan crossed fourteen seconds later to come-in second at 17:12, while teammate Sam Lander crossed shortly behind at 17:14 to take third place for the Berries.

In team scoring, Elk County Catholic competed against seventeen others and won the Championship title with a total of 52 points. Runners representing the Crusaders included; Matthew Dippold (17:21), Zachary Wortman (17:28), Logan Hoffman (17:31), Scott Brazinski (17:55), Vincent Thompson (18:50), Ben Uberti (19:58), and Sam Wolfe (20:09).

Cranberry placed second with a total of 56 points.  Berry runners included; Harrison Keenan (17:12), Sam Lander (17:14), Nolan Brannon (18:15), Jared Dailey (18:17), Nick Varsek (18:33), Tanner Berry (19:17), and Paul Zacherl (19:27).

Individual male runners advancing to the State finals are; Isaac Wilson (North Clarion, 16:58), Devan Cavanaugh (Coudersport, 17:29), Blayde Conley (Northern Potter, 17:30), Luke Guyer (Ridgway, 17:33), Adam Bettwy (Clarion, 17:34), Darion Gregory (Smethport, 17:37), Christian Tanner (Smethport, 17:52), Jake Mercer (Ridgway, 18:03), Chris Udovich (Kane, 18:04) and Isaiah Griebel (North Clarion, 18:11).

D9 Class-A individual male medalists


Overall, Cranberry freshman Samantha Woolcock set the pace for girls from the nineteen competing teams, finishing at 20:54 and taking the title over Northern Potter’s Emma Ford who finished 4 seconds later for the Panthers.  Cranberry’s Lauren Varsek crossed the line third, coming in at 21:08.

In team scoring, the Championship title went to the Cranberry Area girls.  The Berries finished with a total of 37 points by runners including; Smantha Woolcock (20:54), Lauren Varsek (21:08), Tifany Berry (21:16), Kristin Reynolds (21:42), Laurel Ecklund (24:37), Madeline Keenan (24:48), and Hannah Kapp (24:59).

Clarion-Limestone scored 109 points to take the second team spot and also advance to Hershey.  Lion runners included; Hannah Rittenhouse (22:00), Kaleigh Kirby (22:44), Joni Zacherl (24:12), Macrina Forrest (25:11), Kylie Garvey (25:18), Chantel Olson (27:30), and Erika Romo (29:48).

Individual runners also advancing to Hershey are; Emma Ford (Northern Potter, 20:58), Amanda Ford (Northern Potter, 21:13), Abbie Schmader (North Clarion, 21:27), Lauryn Wortman (Elk County Catholic, 21:32), Elizabeth Tanner (Smethport, 21:43), Katie Craig (Clarion, 21:46), Shannon Quaill (A-C Valley, 21:46), Kiersten Slater (Smethport, 21:58), Michaela Higgins (North Clarion, 22:02), and Rebecca Morgan (Northern Potter, 22:05).

Class-A individual female D9 medalists

Class AA Championship: the winning team plus top 5 individuals advance to the State Championship race.


Overall, sophomore Logan Caruso from Bradford Area claimed the Individual title for the District by crossing the line at 17:16.   Brookville junior Ryan Thrush crossed second at 17:55, followed by Punxsutawney freshman Ethan Brentham in third at 18:14.

In team scoring, the Championship title went to Bradford Area with a score of 44.  Owl runners included; Logan Caruso (17:16), Tyler Nuzzo (18:19), Vinnie Bizzarro (18:39), Cade Hayden (18:52), Jacob Yost (19:08), J. Daniel Fedak (19:29), and Adam Cary (20:43).

Individual runners making the cut to go to Hershey include; Ryan Thrush (Brookville, 17:55), Ethan Brentham (Punxsutawney, 18:14), Ryan Chew (Clearfield, 18:15), Jake Dinger (Punxsutawney, 18:18), Xavier Molnar (Brookville, 18:31).


Overall, Saint Marys Area junior Michelle Bauer easily beat runners from six schools to win the D9 individual AA title with a finishing time of 19:25.  Bauer qualified for National Elite status in the process by making the cut with 20 seconds to spare.  Teammate Amanda Foster crossed second at 20:15 followed by Bradford senior Riley Crissman at 20:23.

The team Championship title was taken by Bradford Area with a score of 32 points.  Owl runners included; Riley Crissman (20:23), Makaila Banka (21:04), Amanda Little (21:40), Morgan Whitlow (21:59), Emily Little (22:15), Bethany Bednez (22:23), and Logan Sunafrank (22:45).

Individual runners advancing to the State race are; Michelle Bauer (St. Marys, 19:25), Amanda Foster (St. Marys, 20:15), Paige Mikesell (Clearfield, 20:47), Claire Mikesell (Clearfield, 21:16), and Elissa McNeil (Brookville, 22:19).

All results are available through PennTrackXC on at

Copyright © 2021 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.