Five Super Bowl Records Broken; Six Tied in Broncos win over Panthers Sunday

SANTA CLARA, Calif. – According to the Elias Sports Bureau, five Super Bowl record were set and six more were tied Sunday.

Denver’s Peyton Manning became the oldest player to start and the oldest player to win a Super Bowl as a quarterback, and the first quarterback to start and win the Super Bowl for two different teams. His Broncos’ teammate, Jordan Norwood, a Penn State graduate, turned in the longest punt return in Super Bowl history at 61 yards.

Also, the Broncos 194 yards of offense were the fewest yards ever by a winning team (previous mark was 244 by the Ravens in Super Bowl XXXV), while the 12 sacks the two teams combined for were the most ever combined sacks in the title contest.
The Panthers Kony Ealy has three of those sacks, tying for the most in a Super Bowl since 1982 with Reggie White of the Packers and Darnell Dockett of the Cardinals.

The seven sacks by Denver also tied a Super Bowl record. The record was officially set by the 1985 Bears but the 1975 Steelers also recorded seven sacks (sacks didn’t become an official NFL statistic until 1982).

A pair of records involving fumbles were also tied by Broncos with Danny Trevathan tying the mark for most fumble recoveries in a Super Bowl with two and Malik Jackson tying the record for most fumble recoveries returned for touchdown with one.

Bennie Fowler’s two-point conversion catch late tied for the Super Bowl record for two-point conversions in a game, and the Broncos appearing in their eighth Super Bowl tied the Pittsburgh Steelers, Dallas Cowboys and New England Patriots for most Super Bowl appearances.

Additional Super Bowl notes:

  • The Broncos are the ninth franchise to win at least three Super Bowls. The Steelers hold the record for most Super Bowl wins with six.  
  • Denver’s Von Miller is the 10th defensive player to be named Super Bowl MVP and the second in three years. Prior to Seattle’s Malcom Smith being named the MVP two years ago, there hadn’t been a defensive MVP of the Super Bowl since 2003 when Tampa Bay’s Dexter Jackson won the award.
  • With the victory, Manning became the first NFL quarterback with 200 career wins (186 regular season and 14 postseason).  
  • The team wearing white jerseys has won 11 of the last 12 Super Bowls. The only team to win with the dark jersey’s was the Packers win over the Steelers in Super Bowl XLV.
  • Broncos head coach Gary Kubiak is the first coach to win a Super Bowl for the same team in which he was a rostered as a player in the Super Bowl. He is just the third coach to win a Super Bowl as the head coach of the team he played for joining Tom Flores of the Raiders and Mike Ditka of the Bears. He is also the fourth head coach to win the Super Bowl in his first year as the head coach of that team joining Jon Gruden (Tampa Bay), Don McCaffrey (Baltimore Colts) and George Seifert (San Francisco).

Copyright © 2024 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.