Former CUP Diver Jamie Wolf Jackel to be Inducted into Western PA Sports Hall of Fame

Jamie Wolf
CLARION, Pa. (EYT) – One of the greatest student-athletes in Clarion history has received another honor.

The Robert “Tick” Cloherty Western chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame announced that Jamie (Wolf) Jackel, Ph.D., will be one of 11 inductees at their 2017 ceremony on May 6 at the Pittsburgh Sheraton Station Square. Jackel, a 2007 Clarion graduate, is the 16th Clarion graduate to earn induction into this prestigious institution, which was recently named after 1962 Clarion graduate Cloherty.

Jackel is, without question, one of the top student-athletes that Clarion has produced in its rich athletic history. A diver under the tutelage of coach Dave Hrovat, she was an NCAA-record seven-time NCAA D-II Champion and a three-time NCAA D-II Female Diver of the Year.

As a freshman in 2004, Jackel won both the 1- and 3-meter NCAA D-II national titles and was voted D-II Diver of the Year. She won both national titles and Diver of the Year honors in 2005, while in 2006 she won her fifth NCAA title on 3-meter and placed second on 1-meter. In 2007 Jackel again won both 1- and 3-meter NCAA titles and D-II Diver of the Year. Her 1-meter total of 453.75 points that year was an NCAA record. Jackel graduated from Clarion in May 2007 with a 4.0 GPA in Molecular Biology.

Her 2007 postseason awards included ESPN The Magazine & CoSIDA NCAA D-II & D-III Academic All-America of the Year (all sports), First Team Academic All-American, Conference Commissioners Association & PSAC Pete Nevins Award – Scholar Athlete of the Year, NCAA Woman of the Year Finalist and the 2008 NCAA Top VIII Award, the first PSAC Athlete to receive that honor. She had an NCAA postgraduate scholarship to Ohio State and earned her Ph.D. in Molecular Genetics in 2013.

Joining Jackel in being honored in 2017 are former North Hills, Penn State and NFL linebacker Lavar Arrington, Jeff Bergman, Bill Cherpak, David Kasper, Ernest Koonts, Rick Krivda, Tim Rooney, Molly Larkin Rotterman, Don Schaefer and Jim Tomsula.

Bios on all of the inductees can be found here.

More information on the Hall of Fame is available here.

Copyright © 2022 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.