Pennsylvania State Police Welcomes 97 New Troopers

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Commissioner Tyree C. Blocker yesterday announced that 97 cadets graduated from the State Police Academy in Hershey and have been assigned to troops across the Commonwealth. The men and women represent the 150th graduating cadet class.

The ceremony at Bishop McDevitt High School marked the culmination of 27 weeks of classroom and physical training. Cadet Andrew M. Merced, from Dauphin County, spoke on behalf of the graduating class.

Six cadets received special awards and recognition at the ceremony:

  • The American Legion Award, presented to the most outstanding cadet in recognition of all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications: Grant W. Ralston, Centre County
  • The Colonel Ronald L. Sharpe Award, presented to the cadet who most exemplifies the qualities of leadership: Cadet Andrew M. Merced, Dauphin County
  • The Colonel John K. Schafer Award, presented to the cadet who achieved the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests: Jeffrey S. Beal, Jr., Bedford County
  • The Commissioner Daniel F. Dunn Award, presented to the cadet who earned the highest level of academic achievement in the class: Andrew M. Merced, Dauphin County
  • The Sergeant Charles B. Gesford Award, presented to the cadet who scored the highest on the department’s pistol qualification course: Tony J. Anthony, Westmoreland County
  • The Colonel Paul J. Chylak Award, presented to the cadet who demonstrated the highest proficiency in driver safety training: Rodd J. Furlough, Jr., Allegheny County

The graduates have been assigned to the following troops:

Troop B, Belle Vernon
Kenneth D. Sherman of Allegheny County

Troop B, Uniontown
Tony J. Anthony of Westmoreland County
Joel A. Burrell of Allegheny County
Andrew Z. Hickey of Allegheny County
Nicholas V. Kunz of Allegheny County
Brandon T. Madden of Westmoreland County
Eric M. Moskal of Washington County
Mateusz S. Zeglen of Washington County

Troop B, Washington
Rocco S. Gagliardi of Allegheny County
Matthew A. Moss of Allegheny County

Troop C, Clarion
Logan T. Fluke of Bedford County
Matthew L. Lingle of Dauphin County

Troop C, Kane
Lauren E. Strishock of Clearfield County
Eric D. Thompson of McKean County

Troop C, Marienville
Marcus A. Lantzy of Cambria County
Brionna N. Mort of Huntingdon County

Troop C, Punxsutawney
Chester E. Knotts III of Cambria County

Troop C, Ridgeway
Nicholas X. Fay of Blair County
David M. Pisano of Indiana County

Troop D, Butler
Bertha Cazy of Philadelphia County
Tyler A. Dubovi of Armstrong County
William F. Nadolsky of Centre County
Eric J. Porter of Westmoreland County
Francis M. Walters of Butler County

Troop D, Kittanning
Dillon P. Burkarth of Allegheny County
Nolan P. Cavanaugh of Armstrong County
Logan D. Small of Indiana County
Kalee A. Wietrzykowski of Washington County

Troop D, Mercer
Brian G. Fulkman of Lawrence County

Troop E, Corry
Bradley J. Beightol of Venango County
Ryan L. Gocal of Crawford County

Troop E, Erie
Rodd J. Furlough, Jr. of Allegheny County
Corey A. Tomko of Crawford County

Troop E, Franklin
Jerod S. Young of Crawford County

Troop E, Girard
Jacob A. Newara of Erie County

Troop E, Meadville
Richard M. Bordonaro of Erie County

Troop E, Warren
Bradley S. Barnhill of Venango County
Joshua M. Tassone of Venango County

Troop F, Coudersport
Marshall S. Bower of Tioga County
Troy R. Croak of Montour County

Troop F, Emporium
Joshua S. Eichenlaub of Clinton County
Grant W. Ralston of Centre County

Troop F, Milton
Jennifer J. Bowers of Lycoming County

Troop F, Montoursville
Devin H. Park of Huntingdon County

Troop G, Bedford
Zane R. Baker of Fulton County

Troop G, McConnellsburg
Jeffrey S. Beal, Jr. of Bedford County

Troop H, Chambersburg
Lucas C. Amarose of Northumberland County
Benjamin A. Forsythe of Washington, MD
Cory B. Kylor of Mifflin County
Matthew A. Rader of Huntingdon County
Nathaniel J. Wachsmuth of Washington, MD
Curtis C. Weston of Mifflin County

Troop H, Harrisburg
Christopher D. Costello of Dauphin County
Joshua T. Porter of Berks County
Jacob B. Walker of Lycoming County
Jonathan S. Zimmerman of Dauphin County

Troop H, York
Dylan T. Adams of Carroll, MD
Scott K. Giraud of Orange, NY
Noah J.L. McKnight of Monroe County
Timothy J. Shearon, Jr. of York County
Steven P. Stechman of Berks County

Troop J, Avondale
David J. Nguyen of Camden, NJ
Carmen M. Scinico of Lackawanna County

Troop J, Embreeville
Kaytlynn A. Greenert of Dauphin County
Zachary R. Kades of Northampton County
Justin N. Yozsa of Northampton County

Troop J, Lancaster
Alexander Q. Barry of Lebanon County
Adam D. Hartzell of Lancaster County
Anthony J. Urban of Berks County

Troop K, Media
Derek J. Rumsey of Montgomery County
Stephen J. Slavin, Jr. of Montgomery County

Troop K, Philadelphia
William C. Butler, Jr. of Philadelphia County
Keith T. Hamell of Philadelphia County
Chad W. Howell of Cambria County
Ryan P. Rutter of Bucks County
Trent C. Tolbert, Jr. of Philadelphia County

Troop K, Skippack
Andrew M. Merced of Dauphin County

Troop L, Hamburg
Douglas W. Jennings of Luzerne County

Troop L, Jonestown
Justin M. Kline of Berks County

Troop L, Reading
Christopher S. Young of Berks County

Troop M, Fogelsville
Sergio M. Castro of Union County
John H. Snyder of Lehigh County

Troop N, Fern Ridge
Jonathan M. Housenick of Luzerne County
Brittany N. Naylor of Luzerne County

Troop N, Hazleton
Brent M. Beaver of Columbia County
Nathan W. Golla of Columbia County

Troop N, Lehighton
Ryan T. Brands of Northampton County
Peter Krajnak of Carbon County

Troop N, Stroudsburg
Tyler J. Cunningham of Lackawanna County
Joseph P. Gillot of Lackawanna County
Justin J. Golden of Lackawanna County
Thomas D. Rehberg of Pike County
Thomas A. Whalen of Lackawanna County
Michael G. Zaleskas, Jr. of Luzerne County

Troop P, Towanda
Joseph R. Bednarksi of Luzerne County
John A. Kasheta of Lackawanna County
Adam L. Thomas of Wayne County

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit To learn more about becoming a Pennsylvania State Trooper, visit

Copyright © 2021 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.