PIAA Releases State Wrestling Pairings

Screenshot 2016-03-05 at 2.51.29 AM
HERSHEY, Pa. (D9Sports) — The PIAA Wrestling Tournament brackets have been released and the area wrestlers know who will they face when action begins Thursday at the Giant Center in Hershey.

lutons_970x90District 9 wrestling coverage on exporeJeffersonPa.com is brought to you by Luton’s Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning.

In Class AA, beginning at 106 pounds, Brookville’s Keelan Kunselman will face Montoursville’s Wyatt Lutz and Curwensville’s Blake Passarelli will oppose Benton’s Joe Klock.

At 113 pounds, Brookville’s Gavin Park has a bye to the first round and will take on the winner of the preliminary round match between Warrior Run’s Trey Heiss and Notre Dame Green Pond’s Richie Markulics. Brockway’s Mitchell Overbook will face Bentworth’s Manny Dovshek in the preliminary round.

At 120, Brockway’s Ryan Carlson will face Northern Bedford’s Zach Clark in the first round.

In the 126-pound class, Redbank Valley’s Tanner Altobelli and Brockway’s Mason Lindenmuth each have first-round matches.

Altobelli will tackle Hughesville’s Trevor Sones while Lindenmuth will battle Line Mountain’s Brian Earlston.

At 132, Brookville’s Tate Ortz has a bye to the first round where he face the winner of the prelim between Northern Lebanon’s Trevor Leonard and Mount Pleasant’s Mike Novak.

At 138, Brockway’s Dustin Jamison will face Bishop McDevitt’s Jayden Johnson. The winner will move to the first round to wrestle Derry’s George Phillippi. In the bottom half of the bracket, Brockville’s Cole Aaron will face Westmont Hilltop’s Carnell Andrews in the first round.

In the 145-pound weight class, Smethport’s James Duffy has a bye to the first round where he face the winner of the prelim match between Bermudian Springs’ Ashton West and Somerset’s Austin Henninger.

At 152 pounds, Coudersport’s Gage Arnold battles Chestnut Ridge’s Morgan Deremer in the preliminary round. The winner gets Biglerville’s Nate Newberry. Curwensville’s Shae Bloom has a bye to the first round where he take on the winner of the match between Saucon Valley’s Nathan Harka and South Fayette’s Ben Previte.

Also at 152, Brookville’s Caleb Hetrick will wrestle Delone Catholic’s Brian Shermeyer.

In the 160-pound class, Cranberry’s Paul Zacherl will face Saucon Valley’s Dylan Yonney in the first round and Port Allegany’s Mac Tanner will wrestle Northern Lehigh’s Ryan Farber.

At 182, Franklin’s Dakota Geer has a bye to the first round where he will take on the winner of the match between Troy’s Zach Zimmerman and Chartiers-Houston’s Dom Provenzano. Also, Brookville’s Noah Cieleski will wrestle Lewisburg’s Andrew Shedleski in the first round.

At 195 pounds, Clarion’s Zach Sintobin will battle Danville’s Sam Crone in the first round.

For the 220-pound weight class, Brookville’s Tyler Cook will wrestle Notre Dame Green Pond’s Julian Wismer in the preliminary round. Port Allegany’s Ethan Budd will oppose West Branch’s Vincent McDowell in the first round.

At 285 pounds, Redbank Valley’s BryLee Shumaker will wrestle the winner of the match between Keystone Oaks’ Joe Kazalas and Northern Lebanon’s George Thompson and Ridgway’s Colton McClain will wrestle Williams Valley’s Ian Minnich.

Wrestling in Class AA begins at 9 a.m. with the preliminaries and first round.

In Class AAA, four D-9 wrestlers will compete.

Punxsutawney senior Kaleb Young leads the group while DuBois’ Dalton Woodrow is the other Class AAA Northwest Regional champ. Clearfield has two wrestlers at states in Travis Ogden and Luke McGonigal.

Young has a bye to the first round where he will face Bangor’s Jesse Rocco.

Woodrow has a bye to the first round and he will take on the winner of the preliminary round match between Penn Trafford’s Nick Coy and Downington East’s James Strommer.

For McGonigal, he has a preliminary round match at 170 pounds against Penn Trafford’s Matt McGillick.

At 195, Ogden will face Upper St. Clair’s Eli Grape in the first round.

Class AAA action begins at 4 p.m.

Story by Scott Shindledecker

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.