Redbank Valley’s Hinderliter Named KSAC Girls’ Hoops MVP; All-Conference Teams Named

Redbank Valley’s Brooke Hinderliter was named the KSAC Girls’ Basketball Most Valuable Player in a voting by the league coaches Sunday night.

Hinderliter led the KSAC and District 9 in scoring at 22.0 ppg and finished her career as the school’s all-time leading scorer with 1,997 career points, the sixth-best mark in District 9 history. She added 8.3 rebounds, 3.3 steals, 2.1 assists and 1.3 blocks per contest.

Joining Hinderliter on the first-team are Karns City’s LeeAnn Gibson and Emily Hegedus, North Clarion’s Tori Obenrader and Abbie Schmader and Venango Catholic’s Ava Homan.

Gibson (17.0 ppg) and Hegedus (17.4 ppg) have led the Lady Gremlins into the second round of the PIAA Class AA tournament where they will meet North Star Tuesday.

Obenrader averaged a season double-double with 16.4 ppg and 16.6 rpg, while Schmader just missed a season double-double averaging 17.9 ppg and 9.7 rpg while the duo helped North Clarion to the PIAA playoffs for the first time in 30 years.

Homan scored 17.5 ppg.

On the second team are Moniteau’s Kristina DeMatteis and Alazia Greaves, Keystone’s Amber Hess, Union’s Lexey Shick and A-C Valley’s Ellie Thompson, while the third team consists of Keystone’s Taylor Geer and Josselin Geer, Karns City’s Alyssa Gibson, Redbank Valley’s Becca Dougherty and Clarion-Limestone’s Josie Stitt.


MVP – Brooke Hinderliter Redbank Valley

1st Team

Lee Ann Gibson Karns City
Emily Hegedus Karns City
Tori Obenrader North Clarion
Ava Homan Venango Catholic
Abbie Schmader North Clarion

2nd Team

Kristina DeMatteis Moniteau
Amber Hess Keystone
Lexey Shick Union
Ellie Thompson A-C Valley
Alazia Greaves Moniteau

3rd team

Taylor Geer Keystone
Josselin Geer Keystone
Alyssa Gibson Karns City
Becca Dougherty Redbank Valley
Josie Stitt Clarion-Limestone

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.