Five Locals Among 106 New State Police Trooper Grads

state_policeHARRISBURG, Pa. – Acting Commissioner Marcus Brown announced that 106 men and women graduated from the State Police Academy on Friday and were assigned to troops across the commonwealth.

Brown spoke at the ceremony, which was held in Founders Hall at Milton Hershey School, along with Lieutenant Governor Mike Stack. Cadet Christopher M. Rooney, of Schuylkill County, spoke on behalf of the cadet class.

Cadet Jacob P. Fackler was named the outstanding cadet by his classmates and instructors, receiving the American Legion Award. Also receiving awards were: Cadet William A. Sanger, the Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award and the Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award; Cadet Michael D. Greiner, the Col. Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award; and Cadet James A. Stefancic, Jr., the John K. Schafer Memorial Physical Fitness Award.

Major Adam Kisthardt, director of the state police Bureau of Training and Education, supervised the training of the class, which was the 140th class to graduate from the State Police Academy in Hershey since its opening in 1960.

The graduates have been assigned to stations within thirteen troop areas across the state, including:

Troop A, Greensburg, Westmoreland County

∙ Patrick C. Carlson of Butler County
∙ Michael S. Dunlap of Butler County
∙ Jacob M. Feryus of Westmoreland County
∙ Gregory B. Hays of Butler County
∙ Jesse K. Newhouse of Westmoreland County
∙ Aaron P. Peterson of Cambria County
∙ Daniel L. Smith of Beaver County
∙ Eric G. Smith of Armstrong County
∙ Jonathan R. Thompson of Lycoming County
∙ Joseph R. Volpe of Allegheny County
∙ Jennifer M. Wills of Blair County

Troop B, Washington, Washington County

∙ Michael M. Carcella of Fayette County
∙ Michael D. Greiner of Greene County
∙ Kevin C. Kara of Fayette County
∙ Bryan McKee of Washington County
∙ Annabel E. Mosco of Fayette County
∙ Richard M. Nagy III of Washington County
∙ Samuel A. Patton of Greene County
∙ Justin L. Prejsnar of Lawrence County
∙ Matthew T. Shaffer of Beaver County
∙ James A. Stefancic, Jr. of Westmoreland County
∙ Zachary C. Webb of Butler County
∙ Kristen M. Zelechowski of Allegheny County

Troop C, Punxsutawney, Jefferson County

Matthew A. Borden of Clearfield County
Jacob A. Knight of Clarion County
∙ Cody J. Northcott of Mercer County
∙ Shawn J. Owens of Venango County
∙ Nicholas M. Rickerson of Chautauqua
Tyler J. Thompson of Clearfield County
∙ Matthew P. Thurner of Butler County
∙ Alex C. Wissman of Warren County

Troop D, Butler, Butler County

∙ Jennifer M. Cantella of Beaver County
∙ Sherry L. Hogue of Beaver County
∙ Eric M. Young of Lawrence County

Troop E, Erie, Erie County

∙ Joshua M. Byers of Erie County
∙ Andrew J. Hacke of Butler County
∙ Nicholas J. Kaschalk of Erie County
∙ Cody R. Krahe of Erie County

Troop F, Montoursville, Lycoming County

∙ Ronald E. Bardo of Bradford County
∙ Jacob L. Fultz of Snyder County
∙ Katherine E. Pettis of Elk County

Troop G, Hollidaysburg, Blair County

Lance W. Howell of Clearfield County
∙ Ryan J. Maggs of Clinton County
Jeremy M. Pollick of Clearfield County
∙ Matthew A. Rounsley of Clinton County

Troop H, Harrisburg, Dauphin County

∙ Shawn D. Barry of Chautauqua County
∙ Cory R. Blowers of Wayne County
∙ Daniel J. Cherry of Mifflin County
∙ Jacob P. Fackler of Cumberland County
∙ Hilary A. Faust of Berks County
∙ Joseph F. Fay of Blair County
∙ Dylan O. Gelvin of Bedford County
∙ Seth E. Gilbert of Franklin County
∙ David J. Husar of Centre County
∙ Anson J. Lauermann, Jr. of Dauphin County
∙ Catherine M. Long of Cumberland County
∙ Erich R. G. Majors of Dauphin County
∙ Robert E. Minnick, Jr. of Luzerne County
∙ Michael T. Nicholas of Luzerne County
∙ Scott E. O’Donohue of Centre County
∙ Joseph E. Phillips of Northampton County
∙ Erica L. Polcha of Franklin County
∙ Edward A. Prentice, Jr. of Northampton County
∙ Jacob Y. Roberts of Washington County
∙ Sean W. Simmers of Lancaster County
∙ Jeffrey A. Simmons of Chester County
∙ Bradley C. Smith of Berks County
∙ Jared R. Troutman of Schuylkill County
∙ Kyle G. Yeager of Warren County

Troop J, Lancaster, Lancaster County

∙ Austen B. Barnett of Lancaster County
∙ Keith J. Herbert, Jr. of Lancaster County
∙ Patrick T. Lilly, Jr. of Chester County
∙ Timothy J. Richartz of Lancaster County

Troop K, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

∙ Andrew G. Baldwin of Philadelphia County
∙ Brandon M. Brown of Philadelphia County
∙ Timothy C. Dettra of Philadelphia County
∙ Kevin S. Gaffney of Lackawanna County
∙ Peter D. Onisick of Bucks County
∙ Michael A. Piccari of Bucks County
∙ Matthew B. Smith of Chester County
∙ Zachary J. Stern of Philadelphia County

Troop L, Reading, Berks County

∙ Michael T. Blase of Schuylkill County
∙ Ryan J. Farrell of Luzerne County
∙ Marshall J. Hummel of Schuylkill County
∙ Michael J. Kaminskas III of Berks County
∙ Ian P. Keck of Schuylkill County
∙ David J. Lebron of Berks County
∙ Robert C. Markowski, Jr. of Lackawanna County
∙ Christopher M. Rooney of Schuylkill County
∙ William A. Sanger of Lancaster County
∙ Michael A. Stramara of Schuylkill County

Troop M, Bethlehem, Northampton County

∙ Carlos J. Alvarez of Lehigh County
∙ Andrew E. Harris IV of Lehigh County
∙ Raphael M. Padilla of Northampton County
∙ Sean R. Quigney of Lehigh County
∙ Christopher P. Teetsel of Luzerne County

Troop N, Hazleton, Luzerne County

∙ Jonathan I. Bailey of Monroe County
∙ Brian R. Bird of Monroe County
∙ Sean M. Colley of Pike County
∙ Travis R. Graziano of Lackawanna County
∙ Jonathan D. Hontz of Luzerne County
∙ Justin R. Landsiedel of Wyoming County
∙ Jonathan M. Lazarchick of Luzerne County
∙ Jessica L. Naschke of Union County
∙ Patrick J. Quinn of Monroe County
∙ Ronald M. Ziobro III of Luzerne County

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit their website at

Copyright © 2023 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.