Three Curwensville, Two C-L Players Named Class 1A All-State in Football

HARRISBURG, Pa. (D9Sports) – Three Curwensville and two Clarion-Limestone players were among seven District 9 players honored as Class 1A All-State by the Pennsylvania Football Writers/Broadcasters Tuesday.

(Photo: Nick Stewart of Curwensville. Photo by Kyle Yates

Representing Curwensville on the squad are running back Nick Stewart, offensive lineman Steve McClure and defensive back Josh Terry, while C-L quarterback Brendan Makray and wide receiver Kyle Kerle are also on the team.

Stewart became the all-time leading rusher in District 9 this season and finished his career with 7,324 yards on the ground and 94 rushing touchdowns while scoring 100 totals touchdowns. In 2017, he ranked second in District 9 in rushing with 1,790 yards while scoring 27 rushing touchdowns on 244 carries. He added 12 catches for 179 yards.

McClure helped pave the way for Stewart and the rest of the Curwensville offense that averaged 313.4 yards per game, including 199.9 on the ground, and 32.2 points per contest.

Terry led District 9 in interceptions with seven while making 2.6 tackles per game and finishing with 19 totals passes defended.

Makray was the second-leading passer in District 9 this season throwing for 2,785 yards and 34 touchdowns. Going 145 of 243, Makray also threw 11 interceptions, and his 193.1 quarterback rating led the District.

Kerle was Makray’s leading receiver and the second-leading receiver in District 9. He had a school-record 1,165 yards receiving on 45 catches with 14 touchdowns.

Joining the Curwensville and C-L contingent representing District 9 are Ridgway linebacker Evan Furlong and Ridgway defensive back Neil MacDonald.

Furlong and MacDonald anchored a Ridgway defense that allowed 10.8 points per game with three shutouts and four other games under 10 points.

Furlong averaged 14.3 tackles per game with 2 ½ sacks, while MacDonald averaged 10.8 tackles per game with an interception and two fumbles recovered.

View the Complete Class 1A Team


Copyright © 2021 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.