Trump to Deliver First Official State of the Union Address Tonight

WASHINGTON, D.C. (EYT) – All eyes will be on President Donald Trump Tuesday evening as he delivers his first first formal State of the Union address.

(Photo courtesy Donald Trump)

It will begin at 9:00 p.m. in the chamber of the House of Representatives and will be addressed to the 15th United States Congress as well as millions of Americans.

There is no shortage of ways that the address can be viewed with all major networks and cable news channels broadcasting the speech live. The White House will also provide a live stream on its website.

Last week, the White House said the president would release his complete immigration policy “framework” before the State of the Union. According to a White House official, President Trump’s speech will be one of unity as he tries to appeal to a fiercely divided Congress.

President Trump is also expected to talk about strong economic growth in the U.S., as well as the benefits of the recently enacted tax changes and an America-first trade policy.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average (DJIA) has risen nearly 7,000 points since President Trump’s inauguration. During President Trump’s first year in office, the S&P 500 (SPX) saw a 23 percent increase. The Nasdaq composite closed at a record high on January 23, finishing at 7,460.29.

The U.S. jobless rate has been reduced to 4.1 percent – the lowest figure in 17 years.

With the recent nuclear threats from North Korea, President Trump will highlight a national security policy of “peace through strength,” the White House official said. He also plans to use the opportunity to reveal the details of his long-awaited infrastructure plan.

According to, the President and First Lady Melania Trump have invited 15 special guests, ranging from workers and business owners who have benefited from the economy, to parents of gang-violence victims, to military members and public servants, and volunteers.

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), several Democratic senators and more than two dozen House members, including Reps. Gerry Connelly of Virginia and David Price of North Carolina, will bring DACA recipients and other undocumented immigrants to the address.

Several House Democrats announced they would not attend, including Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.), Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.), John Lewis (D-Ga.), Jan Schakowsky, (D-Ill.), Maxine Waters (D-Calif.) and Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.).

Rep. Joe Kennedy (D-Mass.) will deliver the Democratic response to the address.

Copyright © 2021 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.