USDA Sets New Grading System for Maple Syrup

maple syrupRecently, maple syrup fans have been hearing about the possibility of new grades for maple syrup.

(Photo courtesy of International Maple Syrup Institute)

For years, consumers of maple syrup purchased their products with a little apprehension, hoping that the grade listed on the container corresponded with the desired flavor. Also adding to the problem was the fact that different states had their own grading system. At one time, there were no less than four different grading systems. On March 2, 2015, that will all change.

The USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) enacted new standards for grades of maple syrup on January 29, 2015. The grades have been developed through the International Maple Syrup Institute, along with input from maple producers throughout the US and Canada. Canada and the state of Vermont have already adopted the new standards. On March 2, 2015, all maple syrup sold in the US will be graded by the new standards.

There are four new grade descriptions. Each grade will have a color description and a flavor descriptor, as follows:

Golden Maple Syrup – with a delicate taste;
Amber Maple Syrup – with a rich taste;
Dark Maple Syrup – with a robust taste;
Very Dark Maple Syrup – with a strong taste.

There will no longer be a Grade B designation. All syrup will be Grade A.

Once consumers educate themselves with the new names, they will be more confident in knowing the maple products they are purchasing have the desired flavor they are seeking in any region throughout the US and Canada.

For more information, contact Yeany”s Maple at or go to

Article submitted by Dave Yeany of Yeany’s Maple LLC

Copyright © 2024 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.