Either Moniteau or North Clarion Will Win First-Ever KSAC Girls’ Championship

CLARION, Pa. (D9Sports) – There will be one less team who has never won a KSAC girls’ basketball title after Friday night’s conference championship game between Moniteau and North Clarion.

(Photo of Kristian DeMatteis. Photo by Paul Burdick. Check out more of Burdick’s work here)

Moniteau is seeking its first league title since taking home the 1984 Clarion County League championship, which was the Lady Warriors fourth (1979, 1982, 1983), while North Clarion has never won any league title.

This is the second meeting of the year between the schools with Moniteau taking a hard-fought 52-47 decision at North Clarion Jan. 18. (Find out how you can listen live).

In that game, Kristina DeMatteis scored 28 points for Moniteau with Alazia Greaves chipping in 17. North Clarion got 22 points from Tori Obenrader, despite Obenrader being so sick she had to take an IV after the game. Michaela Higgins chipped in with eight points.

DeMatteis and Greaves lead Moniteau, who are coach by Dee (Slater) Arblaster, who was a member of the last conference championship for the Lady Warriors. DeMatteis lead the team averaging 17.5 ppg with Greaves chipping in 16.6 ppg and Emma Bair 8.4 ppg.

Tori Obenrader, North Clarion

Tori Obenrader, North Clarion

Obenrader is the unquestioned leader for North Clarion averaging a season double-double of 22.5 ppg and 15.7 rpg. She has recorded a double-double in 21 of the She-Wolves 22 games and in 17 straight games.

Cassie Wagner chips in 8.4 ppg for North Clarion with Higgins adding 7.0 ppg.

Both teams have had chances to win the conference in title games. North Clarion lost to Karns City, 46-31, last year. Moniteau fell to Cranberry, 49-40 in overtime, in 2010 after dropping a 51-25 decision to West Forest in 2009.

See related story: Boys’ Title Game Preview


2016 – Karns City 46, North Clarion 31
2015 – Karns City 55, Venango Catholic 53
2014 – Karns City 36, Clarion 28
2013 – Clarion 45, Keystone 40
2012 – Cranberry 57, Keystone 53
2011 – Cranberry 41, Union 33
2010 – Cranberry 49, Moniteau 40, overtime
2009 – West Forest 51, Moniteau 25
2008 – Keystone 47, Union 37
2007 – Union 43, Keystone 42

Copyright © 2022 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.