Jefferson County Teacher Selected as Finalist for PA's 2015 Teacher of the Year

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Governor Tom Corbett yesterday announced the 13 educators who have been selected as finalists for Pennsylvania’s 2015 Teacher of the Year:

Crystal Brooks, Ridley School District, Delaware County;
James Ciccarelli, Rose Tree Media School District, Delaware County;
Dani Jo Close, Bradford Area School District, McKean County;
Mairi Cooper, Fox Chapel Area School District, Allegheny County;
Emily Dickey, Waynesboro Area School District, Franklin County;
Kristen Gerhard, Governor Mifflin School District, Berks County;
John Grande, Upper Moreland Township School District, Montgomery County;
Sara Jones, Titusville Area School District, Venango County;
CeCe Kapron, Mt. Lebanon School District, Allegheny County;
James Lucot, Seneca Valley School District, Butler County;
James Nagorski, Carlynton School District, Allegheny County;
Holly Plummer, Northern Lebanon School District, Lebanon County; and
Mary Beth Yahner, Brockway Area School District, Jefferson County.

“These individuals represent the thousands of outstanding teachers who work every day to ensure our children are learning and growing academically,” Corbett said. “I thank each of them for their dedication and commitment both inside and outside the classroom to better the lives of theirs students. Pennsylvania is home to thousands of high-quality educators who are focused on providing students the encouragement and guidance to be successful adults.”

Each finalist must be prepared to carry out the duties of the state’s Teacher of the Year, including being Pennsylvania’s nominee for National Teacher of the Year.

Pennsylvania’s 2014 Teacher of the Year is Anthony Grisillo, who is an instructor in the Academically Gifted Program for kindergarten through fifth grade in the Rose Tree Media School District, Delaware County. Grisillo was named Teacher of the Year in December 2013.

Pennsylvania’s Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the state Department of Education and the Pennsylvania chapter of the National State Teacher of the Year, which was founded in 1995.

For additional information about the state’s Teacher of the Year program, visit

Copyright © 2024 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.