Wolf Administration Announces Finalists for 2019 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Yesterday, the Wolf Administration announced the 12 finalists for 2019 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year.

“Teaching is the profession that creates all other professions,” Education Secretary Pedro A. Rivera said. “Teachers spend their lives educating, inspiring, serving, and supporting students, and this year’s finalists for Pennsylvania’s teacher of the year represent the thousands of dedicated educators across Pennsylvania who are making a difference in the lives of their students and communities.

“I am so proud of these educators for earning this important recognition and am grateful for the work they do every day.”

The 2019 finalists hail from every corner of the commonwealth and include elementary, middle and high school educators, in English, the sciences, and art.

The 2019 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year finalists are:

Amber Chiafulio, Bethlehem Area School District
Kenneth Ehrmann, Pennridge School District
Ann Franzosa, Hazleton Area School District
Brian R. Hastings, Spring Grove Area School District
Wade Owlett, Northern Tioga School District
Myken Poorman, Bellefonte Area School District
Marilyn Pryle, Abington Heights School District
Jayda Pugliese, School District of Philadelphia
Sunada Roberts, Harrisburg School District
Uriah Sampson, Titusville Area School District
Maria Vita, Penn Manor School District
Brian Wargo, Freedom Area School District

Nominations for the Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year were submitted by students, parents, peers, and members of the community wishing to honor and recognize educator achievements both inside and outside the classroom.

The finalists must be prepared to effectively carry out the duties of the state’s Teacher of the Year, including being Pennsylvania’s nominee for the National Teacher of the Year. The recognition program is co-sponsored by the Pennsylvania Department of Education and the Pennsylvania chapter of the National State Teacher of the Year, which was founded in 1995.

The 2019 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year will be announced in December 2018 in Hershey at the SAS Institute, PDE’s annual professional development conference for educators.

Copyright © 2022 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Comments are temporarily closed. A new and improved comments section will be added soon.